This is an archived site. Visit the current website at

New Delhi World Book Fair 2015

Singapore will be the Guest Country of Honour at the New Delhi World Book Fair, which will be held from 14 – 22 February 2015. This will be one of the many activities highlighting the close links between our two nations. The Book Council will manage the Singapore pavilion and events, and Ms Claire Chang, Chairman of the Book Council, will lead the Singapore Delegation.

Calendar Theme

New Delhi World Book Fair 2015

The New Delhi World Book Fair (14-22 February 2015) 

Started in 1972, the New Delhi World Book Fair (NDWBF) is India’s oldest book fair and is currently a major calendar event in the publishing world.

The Fair is organised by the National Book Trust of India (NBT) – an apex body of the Government of India under the Ministry of Human Resource Development. Each year, a different country is offered the position of Guest Country of Honour at the event. Last year it was Poland, and it will be China in 2016.

The Fair’s focus is on books and periodicals, teaching aids, educational and professional materials for universities, schools and colleges. Fiction and general books for the public are also made widely available. A large section is especially devoted to children’s content and related materials. It is open from 11am to 8pm.

Singapore’s Participation

In view of the large and growing market for books in India, the National Arts Council of Singapore (NAC) has accepted India’s offer to host Singapore as the Guest Country of Honour at the New Delhi World Book Fair 2015. This is an honour that will raise not only the profile of Singapore in India, but also give recognition to the authors, illustrators, publishers and other stakeholders in the industry. It will give a great opportunity to our publishers to reach out to the Indian market and test its potential, and help us position Singapore as a Knowledge and Cultural Hub in Asia. These benefits will be derived from effective programming and participation at key events held at the Fair.

Participation in the NDWBF will raise the profile of Singapore in the regional publishing landscape, as well as provide recognition for local authors, illustrators, storytellers, book designers, related technology applications, and publishers (print and digital). It will also create opportunities to tap into the Indian market, considered the seventh largest publishing industry in the world.

Delegates will participate in the following activities:

The Book Council as the Project Manager

The Book Council has worked with NBT, the lead national agency in-charge of the NDWBF, for several years now on projects of common interest. Having attended the NDWBF2014, The Book Council is happy to have been given the privilege of managing this project featuring Singapore as the Guest Country of Honour at NDWBF with the support of relevant government institutions, and professional and trade organisations.

The country showcase at  the New Delhi World Book Fair is part of a concerted effort to promote Singaporean literary artists and publishers in the region.

Singapore Delegation to New Delhi World Book Fair (as of 21 Jan 2015)

Singapore Book Council (SBC)

Ms Claire Chiang (Board Member, NAC and Chairperson, SBC)
Mr R Ramachandran (Executive Director)
Mr Kenneth Quek (Deputy Director)
Mr Carlo Venson Pena (Assistant Director)
Ms Celine Chow (Senior Manager)

National Arts Council (NAC)

Ms Kathy Lai (Chief Executive Officer)
Mr Khor Kok Wah (Senior Director, Literary Arts)
Ms Kiruthiga Mahendran (Manager, Literary Arts)


Authors / Illustrators

Mr Chow Teck Seng
Mr David Liew
Dr Gwee Li Sui
Mr Haresh Sharma
Mr Isa Kamari
Ms Josephine Chia
Ms K Kanagalatha
Mr Otto Fong
Mr Rama Kannabiran
Ms Rosemarie Somaiah
Ms Verena Tay
Mr Yong Shu Hoong


Armour Publishing
Bubbly Books
Candid Creation
Crimson Earth
Ethos Books
Marshall Cavendish Education
Monsoon Books
Pan Asia Publishing
Pustaka Nasional
SBPA Collective Stand
Alston Publishing House
AsiaPac Books
English Corner
Experiences & Experiments Books
NUS Press

Other Delegation Members

Mr Almond Ko - Sang Choy International / AK Publishing
Ms Coonoor Kripalani - Author
Ms Denise Tan – Closetful of Books
Mr Dilip Kumar – National Library Board
Dr Seetha Subbiah - Author
Ms Sithararani Doraisamy, Institute of South Asian Studies
Ms Sunita Bhamray - Author
Ms Susanna Goho-Quek - Author / Illustrator
Dr Kamal Bose - Bose Family Trust
Mr Venka Purushothaman – LaSalle College of the Arts
Mr Zafar Anjum - Author / Publisher
Download 30 Jan Press Release

Calendar Theme


Press Release (292KB pdf)
Press Release (292KB pdf)